I had never read this piece of Seuss’ work, which surprised me as I’m a pretty big Seuss fan. My dear friend Skyler (another rad kid’s book fanatic) brought me to his local library, when I came to visit, and sat me down to read it.

It’s fantastic.

It’s the story of a Seuss style creature who runs into troubles (over and over) where he lives, so he decides to run a way and find a place to live where he’ll be troubled no more. He runs into a traveler who’s headed to Solla Sollew and claims that this is a trouble free land.

The entire journey is chalk full of troubles and worries and problems for our protagonist. And when he finally gets to Solla Sollew he finds that it too is full of difficulties.

So he decides that he’s sick of running and to goes back home, and face his problems head on. It’s a pretty simple, fun, Seussian book, with a lovely message: there is no running a way from your problems, however, you can stand your ground and take ’em!

My absolute favorite part of the book is the last line: “But I’ve bought a big bat. I’m all ready, you see. Now my troubles are going/ to have troubles with me!” — so baddass!

