2013-04-23 18.10.35

whole display without parentheses

So my displays aren’t quite to Rachel Moani standards… But I’m fairly proud of this one. Blueford High books are very popular with teens at my library, and since Urban Fiction wasn’t covered in my Young Adult Literate class I figured it would be good both for my patrons and for me to know more YA urban fiction titles.

For the display I created a cardboard apartment building, and filled it’s windows with characters from the covers of different YA Urban Fiction books. I gave it a silver accent to (hopefully) create the look of concrete, and hot glued side pieces so it’s 3D.  As you can see I made a mention of Bluefuord high in the text. I then used a graffiti creator to actually write “Urban Fiction,” which looks cool but is illegible, so after hours of stressing out about it I decided to just write it in parentheses underneath.

Anyways, this is what I do with my master’s degree.

bulletin board with parentheses

bulletin board with parentheses

close up of apartment building

close up of apartment building

