fbbanner

I am formally inviting the world to come to the premiere of Thirst For Hunger, a Hunger Games parody Video made by the teens I work with at my library. On Friday November 22 at 5pm Central time I will be posting the link to the video here. During the screening email me mblock@hcpl.net or tweet at me @wolfielibrarian to ask the film makers questions, and we’ll answer as many as we can.

So, anyone who knows me in real life already knows all about Thirst For Hunger. This parody video my artistic teen volunteers and I took on a couple months ago has taken over our lives. My teens were responsible for conceiving the idea (what was gonna funny about the Hunger Games story we told?), writing the script, storyboarding out the scenes, casting all the part (coercing their friends to be in the movie), the cinematography, and playing the roles we wrote. Which is to say this process took a long time. We’ve been working on Thirst For Hunger since August.

As lil teasers I’ll be posting throughout this next week with different pieces of the work we’ve done to create this video. Today’s teaser: the script!!!

It started with the idea, we were making a video –> we were making a Hunger Games video –> we were making a Hunger Games Parody video. We then decided to make the big joke in our video be that the tributes fought with food. Then we brain stormed what scenes we needed to tell the Hunger Games, for instance we start our video with the reaping, however nobody really felt like we needed to include in scenes where Katniss and Gale having veiled conversations about their feelings for each other. Then we split the scenes up, it wasn’t based on being an even distribution but raw passion for the project: some kids had to be goaded to write one short scene, a few teens wrote a couple scenes, one kid wrote more about half the script in one week on her notebook and used meeting times just to transcribe her work.

Now, to back track, before I sent them off writing I schooled then in correct script format. This is partially because I had to perfect this as a playwright major, but really because I’m trying to have this be training for potential future film makers: I want them to be aware of professional standards. To school them I had them read an example script that walks the reader through formatting (from oscars.com!). We read it out load to each other, and it was cool to see them get excited when they learned how to write out film conventions (how you change scenes, or do voice overs, etc).

Then I gave them the cheaters way out: formatting software. If any readers are rich and wanna write a play I have heard the best software out there is Final Draft, for the rest of us there’s a free version of Celtx. Don’t get me wrong Celtx is good (it used to be great but then they made a version you pay for and since then the free one has been wanting), it saves you a ton of time, you pretty much only use tabs and returns to format your script. So the kids used the basics of script formatting as they typed their scenes in Word, and I copied it all over into Celtx for the annoying nitty gritty parts of script formatting.

Then we read it through together to find holes and redundancies, and would work together to find solutions to problems we found. And then, FINALLY, we had a script. And a funny one too! Check it out!

And We’ll see you next Friday!

handbill

 

